For good reason, Las Vegas is referred to as “Sin City.” Exotic adult entertainment is advertised on every corner for travelers to see. There are a lot of strip clubs and private stripper parties in the area that cater to individuals who want to have some adult fun.
What is Considered Nude?
You can be arrested for indecent exposure in Las Vegas, NV. Nevada law defines the crime of indecent exposure as exposing one’s genitalia or anus in public or in a private place open to public view. Under NRS 201.220, a first offense violation is a gross misdemeanor punishable by up to 364 days in jail and up to $2,000 in fines. Full nakedness in public places is thus an offense, even for a Vegas visitor.
Topless and Nude Clubs
Although exotic dancing is permitted in Nevada, the types of nudity and touching permitted are strictly limited. Strip clubs can be divided into two categories:
- A topless club: A place where strippers perform adult entertainment, mostly in the form of striptease or other exotic dance entertainment. They work naked from the waist up, meaning they show their breasts.
- Adult nightclubs are legally defined as fully naked strip clubs. Nude Vegas Stripper Clubs can have completely naked dancers.
Also, topless clubs in Las Vegas can sell alcohol, whereas totally nude clubs cannot. This is one of the main distinctions between the two types of clubs on the Strip.
Penalties For Breaking The Law
Travelers should bear in mind that if a defendant has a history of committing sex crimes, the severity of their penalty will be determined under NRS 201.220. Those convicted of a first-time nudity crime can face up to 364 days in jail as well as fines of up to $2,000 and must register as sex offenders. In Nevada, they face charges of gross misdemeanors. Defendants who have previously been convicted of indecent exposure or another sex offense come under Category D felonies can be sentenced to one to four years in jail or to a fine of up to $5,000, .
Category D felonies are also categorized as first or subsequent offenses committed in the presence of a child under the age of 18 or a disabled person, respectively. Depending on the severity of the crime, a fine of up to $5,000 may be imposed or a sentence of 1–4 years may be imposed. A sex offender is also listed on the individual’s record. Keep in mind that judges do consider mitigating factors when deciding on sentencing.